Book Review: Wedding Bells at Villa Limoncello by Daisy James.

blossom-twins-blog

I must apologize for taking so long to write my review for this book. For some odd reason I thought I had written it! Maybe it's because I wrote sentences and organised my thoughts in my head ready for my review that I thought I'd already typed them up. Oh the life of a book blogger! Does anyone else do this or is is just me? Funnily enough I finished Wedding Bells at Villa Limoncello just before we went to Italy and then we went and all we saw on a daily basis was Lemons as far as the eye could see. It was beautiful and very much reminded me of this book! 


The Blurb.


Escape to Villa Limoncello… where dreams come true in unexpected ways. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jenny Oliver and Kat French

When Isabella Jenkins is unceremoniously fired from her fancy London job, she escapes to Tuscany. A few weeks hiding amongst rolling hills and grape vines at Villa Limoncello sounds exactly like the distraction she needs.
But Italy holds emotional memories for Izzie and with a hapless handyman, a matchmaking village matriarch and a gorgeous – if infuriating – local chef named Luca Castelotti, her quiet Italian get away turns into an unending cacophony of chaos.
Suddenly Izzie finds herself on a mission to pull off the wedding of the century and maybe get her life in order in the process. If only Luca’s gorgeous smile wasn’t such a powerful distraction…


My Review.


The biggest thing that made me smile about this book were the stunning descriptions of the Villa, the surrounding area and the food. Honestly, I could have jumped on a plane, found myself my own Villa Limoncello and stayed there forever. Daisy was spot on with everything. I adored the whole setting, it made my heart very happy.

Lemons are one of my absolute favourite things in the world, so for the villa to be named Villa Limoncello and for it to be surrounded by Lemons and a beautiful garden sounded like such perfection to me. Then like I said above, going to Italy and it being the height of Lemon season and seeing them everywhere we looked, just made me think of this book and smile. There is something so awe-inspiring about Lemons to me, maybe it's because they are a happy colour and remind me of childhood, or maybe it's because I could stare at them all day and still be none the wiser to how they manage to stay on the tree! In Italy they are huge and I honestly can't figure out how they stay there, looking so glorious, waiting to be picked at the perfect time.

This story was quite emotional for me, if I'm honest. I adored being in Italy and meeting the locals and taking it all in, but Izzie's story was quite a tough one for me to get into. At first I wondered why she couldn't just be happy and go to Italy and become this positive, grab life and go with it kind of person. I wanted that for her. I also tend to be like that with every character I read about, I enjoy happy stories and want everyone to be smiling all the time. However, I know that isn't always the case in life and for stories to be realistic, characters must go through heartbreak and challenging times. Some do get over it and find that their fears, worries or heartache was just a blip and something better has come a long and life has sorted itself out and that's always wonderful. Izzie's story was never going to be like that and as I learnt more about her and her life I one hundred percent understood the fragile state she was in and the fact that life was never going to be the same for her. Of course she could have happiness and appreciate where she was, but it was never going to be total sunshine and rainbows again. This got me good. I'm the kind of person whose heart breaks everyday for other peoples suffering and pain, I honestly wish I could take it all away. I realize that I'm getting a bit deep with this review, but if you read the book, I like to think you will understand why. It was a tough story to read, but one that made me stop and be so incredibly thankful for who I have in my life and to always appreciate that everyone could be going through struggles that have shaped who they are. Be kind to people always because they could be trying the best they can after what they have been through or are going through.

Wedding Bells at Villa Limoncello has heart, true friendship and love under a breathtaking Italian sky. Book two is out soon, so don't miss this first one!

Happy Reading!
Love







2 comments :

  1. A massive thank you for your wonderful review, Kelly. I truly appreciate it, and understand why you found it emotional. Lots of love to you and Lucy, Daisy xxx

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Daisy and Thank you for taking me to Italy! <3 xx

      Delete