Book Review: For Once In My Life by Colleen Coleman.

blossom-twins-blog

While I've only read one other book by Colleen Coleman, I feel like there's a definite theme with her writing, and that is that she has a knack for writing from the heart and making her stories very, very relatable. Don't get me wrong, I know every author writes from the heart, but Colleen has this way of making me feel like I can feel her feelings through the words written...that's a lot of feels! If you've read her books, let me know if you get this vibe too!


Blurb


Twenty-nine-year-old Lily Buckley planned to be happily married and in her dream job by now. Instead she’s been single since being left at the altar three years ago, and works at her local paper, writing about giant vegetables at the village fete and a dog who looks exactly like Chewbacca.

Not quite what she was dreaming of.

So when Lily’s given the opportunity to write her own column it’s exactly what she’s always wanted – except what she has to write about. She has to do one thing every week that scares her.

With encouragement from sexy colleague – and adrenalin-junkie – Christopher, Lily agrees. From sky-diving to haunted houses, Lily is going to be pushed to her limit. But Lily is hiding something – the thing that she fears the most of all…

Ever since her heart was broken Lily has been afraid of falling in love again. Will fear hold her back once more – or can Christopher help her to finally find happiness?

An uplifting, feel-good story about friendship, romance, and finding the hero inside yourself. Fans of Marian Keyes, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella will love Colleen Coleman!

My Review


I want to start my review by elaborating slightly on what I said at the top of the page. There was something different about Lily. I read a lot of books with many, many wonderful leading ladies who are all unique and kick ass in their own way and while Lily was all of these things, she was different. I felt like she was actually real. Every emotion she felt, I felt too, but not like a small "oh yeah I get that" way. I genuinely felt it. When Lily takes on her first challenge for her new column, it's a terrifying activity (I don't want to spoil it, so I'll leave it at that) I kid you not, every fear she had and the way she handled it I could relate too. The sense of overwhelming dread and panic and feeling like you physically can't move, I've been there done that. Colleen wrote it so sensitively and with such care that it was quite therapeutic. Just knowing that these things do happen and you can get through them and nothing bad will happen was very reassuring. It created a bond with Lily that lasts throughout the book and to be honest will probably continue even now that I've finished the story. That there is the magic of books; feeling empowered and like you can face anything because you've just been through a roller-coaster ride of emotions with your new friends.

Each challenge had me thinking about my fears, as well as laughing out loud and feeling slightly spooked! The friendship between Lily and Christopher was perfect too. He was amazing and I loved him right away. A good guy - long live the good guys! He was written brilliantly as well. 

From start to finish I was engaged in Lily's story. Her passion for her job was contagious, her loyalty to her Mum was admirable, and her sense of positivity and uplifting spirit was infectious. If you're in the mood for a feel-good read that will give you a boost of confidence and belief that YOU are capable of anything if you just believe in yourself and what you want, 'For Once in My Life' is the book for you. 

Happy Reading!
Love 



No comments :

Post a Comment